Skip to content

a few of my favorite things

November 24, 2009

As the holiday season is upon us, I have been thinking about what I would like to give my friends and family.  While not everyone on my shopping list is into kale and yoga, I thought I’d make a list of some of my favorite gifts from over the years.

I’ll start with cookbooks, which are always a winning gift in my eyes.  I practically read them cover to cover. What can I say, I love food, from meal planning to grocery shopping to consuming.  I wouldn’t want to give up any of the cookbooks in my collection but there are 3 that are especially near and dear to me.

 

Peter Berley’s Modern Vegetarian Kitchen.  I absolutely love this book.  The recipes are inspiring and sophisticated, a must-have for the vegatarian foodie in your life.  Most of the recipes are vegan, and some are fairly involved but well worth the effort.  My copy is tattered and stained, signs of a truly great cookbook.

Veganomicon really is the ultimate vegan cookbook.  I always turn to this book when I’m in a food rut, there is always something new and different to be discovered.  This past weekend I made the white bean and leek cassoulet with biscuits, a first to our dinner table.  So delicious.

The Tassajara Bread Book is a wonderful gift for anyone that likes to make bread.  The sponge method is incredible when you use whole grain flours; you can watch it rise.  My mama has an old copy that I started borrowing a little too frequently, so she bought me my own copy.

And for the yogi or yogini in your life . . .

A giftcard to a local yoga studio is always a great present.  Yoga classes can get pricey and the yogini you love will also appreciate the “anti-consumerism” aspect of the gifted classes.

picture and mat are from http://www.barefootyoga.com

I don’t own a lot of yoga products, but I have acquired a few yoga mats over the years. The mat I am exclusive with is an eco-friendly jute mat.  It is not a cheap yoga mat, but I’ve had mine for almost 3 years and when I can see through it I will be purchasing another one:)

photo and pants from http://www.bluecanoe.com

My yoga wardrobe is basic and inexpensive for the most part.  After all, while practicing yoga, I’m hot no matter what I’m wearing;) I do have a nice pair of Blue Canoe fold over pants that my hubby gave me for Christmas one year.  The fit is perfect and they are more comfortable than I thought something tight fitting ever could be.  And to boot, they are made from organic cotton in the USA.

Another fitness gift that I have used past is worth is my beloved jogging stroller.  I wasn’t much of a jogger until I had a baby and a jogging stroller.  Fresh air, exercise, a chance to clear your mind, just what a mommy dreams about . . .

We bought our house 3 years ago and have slowly been adding to out collection of kitchen gadgets.  Last year I was generously given a KitchenAid Artisan stand mixer and my family has reaped the freshly baked benefits.  As a mommy, I especially appreciate it’s hands off capabilities.

And finally, the best Christmas gift ever, my dog.  Four years ago my brother gave me a four pound fuzzy bundle of puggle joy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

