Skip to content

chocolate cake and prosecco

December 19, 2009

The only person in our house without a Y chromosome had a birthday this week;)  To celebrate, the professional chef in the house threw on my apron and cooked at home. 

While my hubby cooked, I made a snowman garland with my favorite boy.

Neither of us had ever made seitan from scratch, but had always wanted to give it a try.  My hubby made homemade seitan, which became seitan picatta.  He served it with vegan horseradish mashed potatoes and kale sautéed with golden raisins. 

Everything was absolutely delicious.  My non-vegetarian parents shared the meal with us and both of them had seconds of the seitan picatta!  I am so blessed to have a family that is so supportive of my way of life.

For desert, I requested my favorite combination chocolate cake served with with prosecco.

Yum!  The chocolate cake was the cinnamon chocolate cake from Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan.  It was luscious and really easy to make.  Topped with chocolate ganache and served with vanilla rice dream.  My hubby planned on making homemade coconut milk “ice-cream” but we forgot to freeze the bowl of the ice-cream maker, so I ran out to the store and bought the only non-dairy frozen dessert option available.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

