Skip to content

snowy sunday

December 20, 2009

We woke up to two feet of snow this morning and I was actually pretty excited about it!  Mentally I don’t do well without fresh air and exercise, which makes me dream about moving south every winter.  But this year I am determined to embrace winter. 

The winter before I got knocked up the hubby and I took up snowboarding and winter was actually fun that year.  So, while we won’t be able to be hitting the slopes much (if at all) this winter, I thought about some ways I could make winter better for myself.

1)      Proper attire.  When I was properly bundled up to go snowboarding, the cold didn’t bother me like it usually does.  So, I decided I will wear as many layers of fleece and down as needed to spend more time outdoors this winter.

2)      Keeping active when I’m outside.  I never helped my husband shovel snow until this morning. Usually I shut myself up in the warm house.  I actually had fun getting out there with him this morning though!

3)      Enjoy the quiet of winter.  Snowy days are a great time to relax and reflect.  I am hoping I will be able to enjoy the extra time at home winter creates.

After my great snow shoveling workout this morning, I came inside and set out to bake something using the cup and a half of ganache we had  left over from my birthday cake.  I threw a lot of ideas around in my head and ended up making Vegan Peppermint Brownies.

I put the ganache in a double boiler to melt it and then added about 1.5 teaspoons of peppermint extract.  If you don’t have ganache sitting around in your fridge you could melt a bag of chocolate chips and add 2 tablespoons of liquid (almond milk, coffee, water, etc).  While the chocolate was melting I combined 2 cups of flour with 1 teaspoon of baking powder and a sprinkle of salt in the bowl of my stand mixer.  Then I added half of the ganache, 2 tablespoons of agave nectar, ¼ cup of canola oil, and about a cup of water.  I spread the mixture into a pan greased with earth balance and baked at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.  After they cooled I topped with the rest of the ganache and sprinkled with crushed candy canes.  So delicious!      

Not much planned for the rest of the afternoon.  Hoping to fit in some yoga, plan out the yoga class I am subbing this week (!!), and make homemade pizza for dinner.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2009 10:47 pm

    your brownies look fantastic! have a great rest of your weekend 😉

  2. December 23, 2009 12:36 pm

    I think the most important thing about staying active in the winter is the clothing. It is about -15 celsius here in sweden but I still take at least an hour walk 5x a week but I am okay because I have a winter coat, gloves, hat, ski pants, etc. In Sweden they say “there is no bad weather, just bad clothing.” 😉

Leave a Reply

