Skip to content

twas the night before Christmas

December 25, 2009

We hosted Christmas Eve dinner and I served our families a (vegan) feast.  We had dinner after the early evening pageant at our church so everything had to be oven ready for when we arrived home.  I made unpictured homemade hummus with crackers and carrots for an hor d’ourve.  Dinner was massaged kale salad with tangerines, hazelnuts, and a white balsamic vinaigrette, the caramelized onion/butternut squash/chestnut roast from Veganomicon, and roasted brussel sprouts. 

For dessert I made this gingerbread cupcake recipe into a bundt cake.  I substituted with whole wheat pastry flour, almond milk, coconut milk yogurt, freshly minced ginger,  and agave nectar instead of maple syrup.  I topped it with a simple lemon icing of confectioners sugar and fresh lemon juice (which my husband claimed tasted like pixie sticks?!?).

As you can see there may have been some vino involved . . .

I am hoping to have several posts coming in the next week including a day of what I eat, a discussion of why I eat what I do, and a post about plans and goals for 2010.  But for now a very Merry Christmas from my family to yours.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

