Skip to content

recovering

December 27, 2009

We are all recovering from the holidays.  The culmination of our festivities was last night at a party with my extended family.  We ate a small early dinner at the party around 5.  We got hungry a little after we got home so we made a snack.  B (my little boy) had gotten a popcorn maker from Santa, so we made our first batch of popcorn.  Did anyone else’s 2 year-old request a small kitchen appliance for Christmas?   

I needed some greens so I also made steamed kale and drizzled with white balsamic. And since we had won new wine glasses at the Yankee Swap and still had a glass of Merryvale Cab left in the bottle (one of my favorite holiday treats)  . . .  I really had no choice but to have a small glass of wine;)

Well balanced dinner, no?

I’m back in the swing of things today though.  B and I started our day with green smoothies.

Bananas, spinach, almond butter, carrots, carob, almond milk, and a splash of apple juice.  

We did a Yoga Kids video (wonderful gift from my sister in law) and made a batch of homemade granola bars for the week.  I didn’t feel like going to the store so we just used whatever we had, which ended up being fresh cranberries, about 1/3 of a dark chocolate bar, dates, oats, sunbutter, and raw sunflower seeds.  I chopped the cranberries, chocolate, and dates in a food processor.

Then, I combined that mixture with sunbutter, oats, and sunflower seeds in my mixer.  I added a drizzle of agave nectar since I only had a couple dates left and I needed something sweet to counteract the tartness of the fresh cranberries.  

I spread the mixture into a 9” x 11” baking pan and cooked for 80 minutes at 200°. 

For a midmorning snack, I performed quality control on the granola bars (which may have also involved tasting a square of the dark chocolate bar) and ate an orange.

After a couple hours of picking up one new toy after another playing, we broke for lunch.

Notice the water bottle, there will be a lot of rehydrating over the next few days.  It’s pretty nice out today so I am hoping the afternoon involves a walk and a nap, though not necessarily in that order . . .

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

