Skip to content

weekend adventures in the kitchen

January 19, 2010

I wanted to make crackers last weekend and planned to make them from soaked seeds and grains.  I left a variety of seeds, brown rice, and millet to soak overnight on Friday.  I got to work first thing Saturday morning.  I don’t have a dehydrator so I knew my crackers would take hours to crisp at a low temperature in the oven.

So, Saturday morning I drained my seeds and grains (leaving a little water) and put the mixture in my blender.  I was having a hard time smoothing my mixture, so without thinking I used a wooden spoon as a plunger . . . and blended a quarter of the spoon into my cracker dough.  Kitchen fail before 8am!  Reason munber 72872389472903 why I need a Vitamix (Katie pick me!).

I did not give up.  I grabbed a mixture of grains from the cabinet and got to work on a new creation.

½ cup brown rice

½ cup millet

1/3 cup amaranth

1/3 cup teff

¼ cup seeds

Cook the grain mixture in 5 cups of water until all the grains are cooked

Blend grains until fairly smooth (add a little bit of water as needed, the less water the quicker they will cook)

Mix in seeds (I used sunflower and pumpkin seeds)

Spread into a thin layer on a baking sheet

Bake at 275 for about three hours until crispy (or use a dehydrator)

They were crispier on the edges than in the middle.  I’ll have to add a dehydrator to my wish list (after the Vitamix of course).

After carb loading on crackers all day, I made black bean chili and sweet potato biscuits for dinner.  I love black beans and almost always use them as the base of my chili.  I had never made sweet potato biscuits before and they were delicious.  I tweaked a Peter Berley recipe and used spelt flour in my version. 

Sunday morning I was happy to make use of a dwindling jar of almond butter by filling it with banana millet and topping it with raisins and hemp seeds.  On the weekends, when I have a little more time, I like to change up my breakfast grain of choice since I eat oats every weekday (unless of course I forget my breakfast).

Thanks to the warmer weather, my weekend also included fresh air and some long walks with my boy.  I’m trying not to get too excited about spring yet . . .

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 11:11 am

    Sweet potato biscuits with chili sound heavenly! Especially because it is freezing here in Los Angeles!

Leave a Reply

