Skip to content

weekend excitement

January 25, 2010

I worked a half-day Friday and was happy to enjoy a sunny above-freezing afternoon with my favorite little boy.  We walked to the library and each picked two books.  I love how two-year olds have so much fun doing the littlest thing.  Even better is how their enjoyment rubs off on adults.  I never knew a quarter mile walk could be such a blast 🙂

Speaking of books, I just finished Greasy Rider by Greg Melville, which I highly recommend; very informative and entertaining.

After the library, we made treats for a family get-together.  We made the peanut butter cups from The Kind Diet (which I’m currently reading).

So unbelievably delicious!

We also made improvised Crispy Vegan Coconut Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, since my brother doesn’t like chocolate. 

 1 cup spelt flour

1 cup rolled oats

1 teaspoon baking powder

Sprinkle of salt

1/3 cup coconut oil

1/3 cup maple syrup

¼  cup of sunflower seeds

¼ cup raisins

Mix flour, oats, baking powder, and salt.  Mix coconut oil and maple syrup with the paddle attachment of a stand a mixer until smooth.  Add flour mixture.  Texture should be similar to a store-bought roll of cookie dough.  Fold in raisins and sunflower seeds.  Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes.

We had a nice mellow weekend until Sunday afternoon, when I sliced my finger on a broken dish and ended up with stitches. 

Looks like I’m going to be doing a lot of dolphins and forearm planks for the next couple weeks!  I think it’s good to have to modify at times; it takes us out of our routines, making us reassess and open up to new experiences. 

The day ended on a good note.  My wonderful hubby made me lentil/butternut squash/kale stew for dinner. 

Being married to a chef is a beautiful thing 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 9:40 am

    I am so sorry about your finger!! I hope it isn’t as painful as it looks!

    I love the library…I am going to try to find both your books when I go tonight with Maya. The Peanut Butter Cups look amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. tahini makes everything better « peace, kale, and yoga

Leave a Reply

