Skip to content

new weekend

January 29, 2010

After a rough week, I am happy it’s a new weekend.  My weekend is off to a good start.  I went out for Mexican food with my two favorite boys and Project Runway is on tonight.

Did anyone catch Wednesday’s Oprah?  I am a longtime fan of Michael Pollan and Alicia Silverstone, and I loved both of their segments.  I have never been to Chipotle but I really enjoyed what Steve Ells had to say.  It was interesting to see someone with a successful business model, who incorporates ethical ingredients and truly supports small farmers.  He gave me hope for the future.

Most important was the message at large; we must become more conscious of where our food comes from.  I am amazed by friends who eat meat at every meal but are disgusted when forced to consider the cow that is providing dinner.  I am still surprised when I go to the farmer’s market and hear people who are shocked to learn that carrots are roots.  It’s crazy how disconnected we are from our sources of nourishment.

In the Seeds of Deception lecture, Jeffery Smith suggests that Oprah could change America in an hour show.  Maybe Wednesday’s show was the start of a new American food consciousness?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

