Skip to content

tahini makes everything better

January 31, 2010

Lately I have found myself adding tahini to all sorts of dishes.  Just a little bit really adds to the taste and texture.  Last night I made brown rice and a hybrid between the Vegan YumYum broccoli dal and a broccoli-tahini soup that I learned how to make at a Whole Foods demonstration.  It was amazing! (the green plates really are not a good color to photograph this dish on, but all our other bowls were in the dishwasher)

I skipped the soy milk, garam masala, tumeric, and red pepper flakes from the Vegan Yum Yum recipe.  I increased the amount of lemon juice (used the juice from 1 lemon), added 1.5 tablespoons of tahini, and 1 tablespoon of nutritional yeast.  I also doubled the amount of lentils.

For dessert I made a sort of crazy concoction.  It was a bread-less bread pudding made with millet, quinoa, raisins, figs, hemp seed, hazelnuts, and chocolate chips.  Served with frozen banana pureed in the food processor with a dash of almond extract, unsweetened coconut, and a splash of almond milk.

Not bad.  The only added sugar was the sugar in the chocolate chips, and it was vegan and gluten-free.  My favorite little boy loves cookies, and even though he eats organic vegan varieties, I still like to limit the amount of processed foods and sugar he consumes.  At the same time, I am a push-over and have trouble saying no when he says please.  So, I try to make healthy alternatives to offer him.  Homemade granola and energy bars usually do the trick; and he loves “banana ice-cream.”

I have actually been having fun practicing yoga sans chaturanga and downward dog this week.  I have been doing a lot of core work, as well as standing and balancing postures.  My home elliptical has also gotten more use and I broke out my favorite pilates dvd, which was definitely getting dusty.  I’m still looking forward to doing a whole mess of sun salutations when I get my stitches out though 😉

I have a pretty fun dinner planned for tonight.  I hope it comes out well and I get a decent picture of it :-).

Leave a Reply

