Skip to content

confessions

February 3, 2010

My first confession: I buy some processed foods, enjoy them, and even feed them to my child.  I love soaking beans and baking bread, but there are only so many hours in a day and I don’t function well without sleep.  I get hangry sometimes and need instant gratification, as does my child.  Thankfully Annie makes bunny grahams and the Tribe makes hummus.

I have a new favorite processed food (that I buy with my own moolah and have not been compensated to review, thank you).  We Can’t Say It’s Cheese, by Wayfare Foods.  It is vegan, soy free, and has a reasonably short ingredient list.  My boss (aka 2 and a half year old son) approves.  Since I’m being honest, I like it a lot better than any of the fermented nut/seed cheeses I have made.

Their website claims they have a sour cream that I would love to try (as would my hubby), but I have not been able to find it yet.

My next confession: I am one of those lucky people with a speedy metabolism; I don’t have an inspiring weight loss story.  Thanks to Jenna and Katie, I’m in good blogworld company.  I have discussed the roots of my interest in nutrition before.   So why do I bother with exercise?

Exercise is an amazing mental release for me.  I am prone to anxiety and have a tough time dealing with a lack of sunlight (I live in the northeast and have an office job so sunlight is almost always lacking in my world).  Yoga and regular moderate exercise do wonders for my mood.  I went to my first yoga class during a particularly hard time in my life and was instantly addicted.  Just as Julie Powell describes her friend Sally in Julie and Julia, I am the friend who wants to drag my girls to yoga when they are stressed.  One of my best friends is usually on the same page, the other one gets lovingly annoyed :-).

Third confession: I like other (non-yoga) forms of exercise.  I love yoga, have a strong practice, and am a certified teacher but I also like to change things up a little.  Before I had a child, I would run or walk in the morning and practice yoga in the evening.  My run or walk was more about sunshine and my dog than about exercise.  After my son was born, I wasn’t always able to get my yoga fix.  My mei tai and jogging stroller quickly became my BFFs.  The only time my speed has been measured was during a local 5k that the hubby and I both ran for the race tee-shirts.  I don’t have a gym membership but love going with friends as a guest and am always up for trying new classes.  Honestly, I love to sweat, and sometimes I choose getting sweaty on the elliptical over yoga.  That doesn’t make me less of a yogini, does it 😉

Final confession: My post about Sunday’s dinner is ready to go; I just need to upload pictures.  Maybe I’ll have two posts today?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

