Skip to content

Fabulous Sunday Feast

February 4, 2010

Yeah, it’s Wednesday Thursday and I’m just writing about my wonderful Sunday dinner.  I haven’t quite achieved my resolution of blogging more and increasing blog traffic yet.  It’s only February 3rd though, I’ve got time right?

I have wanted to try a meatless reuben for a while.  I don’t think I had ever actually had any type of reuben before Sunday, so I didn’t really know what to expect.  When I saw a recipe for rye bread on Smitten Kitchen, I knew I would be making rye bread and eating a reuben.  And while I didn’t really know what to expect, I knew it would be delicious.

So let’s start with the bread.  I followed this recipe exactly, which I rarely do.  I almost always substitute white flour for barley or spelt flour but since I was investing 8 hours plus into this bread, I didn’t want to risk it.  I could do much worse than some white flour in my homemade bread.

After the first knead, I knew this bread would be amazing, the dough was beautiful.  When my mom taught me the basics of bread making, she kept telling me that dough “would just look right” and many loaves later, I think I know what “right” means.

I decided to use tempeh as the “meat” for our reubens.  I am not typically a huge fan of tempeh (I can definitely relate to Mama Pea’s description).  The Peter Berley recipe I used (the Apple Mustard Tempeh from Modern Vegetarian Kitchen) involved steaming the tempeh first and then baking in a marinade for 40 minutes.  The steaming and long baking time softened the tempeh, mending my textural problems with tempeh; the marinade controlled the flavor. 

I left the husband to assembling the sandwiches, since he had actually eaten a reuben before.  He topped the tempeh with sauerkraut and a homemade vegan thousand island dressing, based in grape seed oil veganaise, and grilled.  Since the sandwiches were so big (and we may or may not have been snacking on bread throughout the afternoon), we each had a half and saved our other halves for lunch on Monday.  We had roasted beets and carrots and steamed kale on the side.

I don't typically drink beer on Sunday but the pairing seemed too perfect, and I deserved a treat after the 8 hours I put in, right?

Wow!  So yummy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 9:47 am

    Wow, your sandwich looks amazing. Do you think your husband can teach mine how to cook? Please??

    Can you believe I still have never had kale? This looks so good thought that I think I need to remedy that ASAP!!

Leave a Reply

