Skip to content

springy weekend

March 10, 2010

I had a pretty fabulous weekend and relished the first glimpse of spring.  I hate the month of March because the weather is such a tease.  Nice days followed by more cold/snow/slushy yuckiness.  Needless to say, I am ready to be done with winter.  I am usually done with winter by January 1st, so I am pretty proud of myself for keeping it together this winter!
 
My weekend started with a kitchen experiment that was surprisingly successful: oatcakes.  I decided I would soak pats in almond milk overnight to attempt flourless pancakes in the morning.  I added a bit of almond butter to the oats in the morning and then placed some “batter” on the skillet.  At first, I didn’t think it was going to work but I waited until the pancake was browned on one side, and it actually flipped nicely!  I made them the next day as well after soaking the oats for only 20 minutes, and they came out fine.

 

My boy topped our oatcakes with raisins.  The three of us also split a Chocolate Cherry Bomb shake ala Kristen. So delicious!
 
After our hearty breakfast my father-in-law offered to watch the boy, so the hubby and I could go on a long hike.  We used to take him on our long hikes, but now he refuses to go in the backpack.  His little legs obviously can’t go as far, so our hikes have become much shorter.  We hiked for almost 2 hours, and it was glorious.
 
The boy wanted to “go in the woods” too, so after we picked him up we went on a shorter family hike.  He was so happy walking in the woods, putting leaves and acorns in his pockets, splashing in puddles.  I am so blessed to be his mom. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 10:52 pm

    How creative! Sounds absolutely yummy, but was the texture more like oatmeal or a pancake?

    • rachael permalink*
      March 12, 2010 9:33 am

      The texture was more pancake like than I thought, not quite as doughy though.

Leave a Reply

