Skip to content

hello spring!

March 23, 2010

We were lucky enough to have lovely spring weather last weekend, which made me want to wholly embrace the new season. The weekend started out great with a 2 hour hike and green juice on Friday; and an outside run and lots of work/play in the yard on Saturday.
 
Unfortunately my little boy woke up with a stomach bug early Sunday morning. We still enjoyed a low key day together and thankfully he’s feeling better now. I really wanted a seasonal dinner on Sunday night. I made a vegan quiche that was actually very easy and just what I was hoping for.


 
Springtime Vegan Quiche (adapted from a recipe in Peter Berley’s Modern Vegetarian Kitchen)
 
Crust:
3/4 cup oats
1/4 cup sesame seeds
2 tbsp tahini
½ cup spelt flour
½ cup water
dash of salt and pepper
½ tsp baking powder
Grind oats and sesame seeds in food processor.  Add other ingredients and blend until fully combined.  Press into a pie plate.
 
Filling:
½ an onion
2 cloves of garlic
1 large bunch of asparagus
1 package of frozen peas
1 lb firm tofu
juice of half a lemon
herbs d’provence
dash salt and pepper
olive oil
 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sautee one and garlic, add asparagus and peas once garlic and onion being to soften. While veggies cook, blend tofu, lemon, 2 tbsp of olive oil, herbs, salt and pepper in food processor or blender. When the asparagus begins to soften and the peas are no longer frozen, stir tofu mixture into veggies. Fill pie crust with tofu/veggie mixture.  Bake for 45 minutes. I served it with a simple salad of arugula and shredded carrots with a homemade dressing of lemon juice and ginger juice my hubby made.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
 
So my right upper back/shoulder/neck has been hurting for over a week now. It seems to get better then worse. I practiced yoga on a day it was feeling good and I was fine while practicing but it hurt worse afterwards. This morning I did a little sculpting with 3 lb weights which also appears to have been a bad idea. I tried a massage last week and it helped temporarily. I’m going to take it easy and avoid chaturanga and twisting postures until it feels better, but I don’t know what else to do.  Injuries are no fun!

Leave a Reply

