Skip to content

grocery shopping on an empty stomach

March 30, 2010

Is a very very band idea.  It’s actually good for my husband since I buy a lot of treats, bad for our son’s college fund.  Hopefully all the brain food will win him a scholarship.
 
My splurges began innocently enough.  We were out of cocoa powder and I needed it for the Easter dessert I will be making.  So I splurged on the raw stuff, and happened to simultaneously slip some cocoa nibs into the cart.  Oooops. 
 

 
My next stop was in the frozen section.  Since I had the cocoa nibs, I figured coconut ice-cream was a natural complement.
 

 
And while I was buying sweets, I bought my current favorite brand of dates. So juicy and delicious!
 

 
The next splurges are mu hubby’s favorite: “meat” and “cheese.” I don’t buy a lot of meat replacements (though I will admit I buy this “cheese” every week and have no plans of stopping anytime soon). 
 
 
The ingredient list is as impressive as it gets for a stand in.
 
 
The ingredient list for the sausages isn’t bad either.  They are a form of seitan, gluten based. None of us seem to be sensitive to gluten, and we like the protein boost occasionally.
 

 
And apparently when I’m hungry, I also buy extra non-food items. Face wash from the best cosmetics company.
 

 
Organic peat pots to start some of our seeds.
 


 
When my shipping spree was over, I stopped for a green juice on the way home.  Maybe next time, I should consider fueling up first?
 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

