Skip to content

a little bit further

April 11, 2010

Every summer I run casually, 2 to 3 miles, a few times a week. I have run in one race, a local 5k last fall. This spring I have been feeling like I want to run a bit further. Yesterday I lengthened my typical run a bit, and ran 3.7 miles. I still felt great afterwards, and wanted to run a bit further. One of my closest friends was visiting, and I convinced her to run a new route this morning. We clocked the distance using the odometer in my car, and measured it to be 5.1 miles. It felt great to challenge myself a bit and I am hoping to continually increase my distance while the weather is nice.  I do need new running shoes though, mine are at least two years old. Any recommendations?

After our longer run I vita-mixed us some awesome smoothies.

 

  • Frozen banana
  • Frozen strawberries
  • Frozen blueberries
  • Carrot
  • Purple kale
  • Hemp protein
  • Raw alomond butter
  • Soy milk (I usually use almond but we had soy in the house and I figured a little extra protein would be good)

I also went to an amazing hot vinyasa class on Friday, so I have had a fabulous weekend workout-wise. A hot bath may be in order tonight. First up I am attempting a new veggie burger recipe I have been eying for a while. I have some other great posts panned too, so stay tuned.

I have a special tip to share . . . Earlier this week I discovered super-mom.com, the website of the owner of Prana Raw, the great raw vegan restaurant we went to in Boston.  If you add it to google reader you see a new yoga inspired quote each day. I love it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 9:26 pm

    I just randomly found your blog and I think my food/lifestyle habits are pretty in sync with yours 🙂 As far as running, I’d go and try to find a RoadRunner Sports and have them do an assessment of your feet and running style and they’ll suggest a shoe!

  2. April 13, 2010 4:11 pm

    thx for the neat link you gave and also for your contest entries!

Leave a Reply

