Skip to content

big juicy veggie burgers

April 14, 2010

I have been meaning to make this veggie burger recipe for a while. It claims to be the best, after all.  Usually I make the husband deal with beets, the mess is a bit much for me, but I tackled this recipe all by myself.

Unbelievably delicious. I  topped with chickpea miso purple kale and served on Ezekiel English muffins with a side of oven baked sweet potato fries.   

I followed the ingredients more closely than the instructions, though I made a few modifications there too. Here is my revision:

Best Ever Veggie Burgers
Adapted from the kitchn
makes about 6 burgers

  • 1/2 cup brown rice
  • 1 onion, diced small
  • 3 large red beets (about 1 pound), diced
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, crushed and chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 1 cup cooked black beans (mine were frozen; could use canned, rinsed and drained)
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • cumin
  • oregano
  • salt and pepper

Cook rice until it is soft (a little over cooked). Sautee onion and garlic in olive oil until onions soften.  Add beets and cider vinegar, and cook until beets have have softened (but not mushy). Combine rice with beet mixture and add lemon juice, cumin, oregano, salt, and pepper. Mixed and mash, I used a hand blender to do so. Wash hands and make into patties.  Cook on stove top at medium high heat.

I invested in chickpea miso last week and have found myself adding little bits to all sorts of things. A little bit really adds a lot of flavor.

Chickpea Miso Purple Kale

  • 1 bunch purple kale (washed, de-stemmed, and ripped into pieces)
  • 4 tablespoons water
  • 1.5 teaspoons chickpea miso (any mild flavored miso would work)

Place kale and water into a small saucepan and cook on medium, stirring occasionally. When leaves begin to wilt, add miso and stir to incorporate. Cook for 2 to 3 more minutes and remove from heat. The kale should still have some texture; you don’t want to cook it down to nothing.

In the next few posts . . . a short series for yoga arms, as well as a post (or two) about eco-friendly birthday parties for kids.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 12:08 pm

    great job on the burgers. love beets and kale!
    got all your entries, thanks 🙂

  2. April 19, 2010 5:06 pm

    That burger recipe sounds awesome! I wish I had it before hitting up the grocery store. I’ll have to save it for next week.

Leave a Reply

