Skip to content

green all over

April 19, 2010

Maybe it’s just because I was away for a few days. Or maybe because we happened to have a perfectly ripe mango on the counter. Or maybe because I’m dreaming of a tropical vacation. In any case, my smoothie this morning was insanely delicious. The three of us split this recipe, so it is enough for 2 pint glasses plus a kid-sized portion.

1 banana
1 mango
1 cup frozen strawberries
1 orange
¼ cup unsweetened coconut flakes (large flakes from Let’s Do Organic)
4-5 cups baby spinach
2 servings of Manitoba Harvest Hemp Pro 70 (love this hemp protein, great texture)
3 cups almond milk

Last night’s dinner was pretty great too. Pizza night at our house is always homemade, on a whole grain crust, covered in veggies, and usually includes a little Wayfare cheese too. Last night’s had onion, kale, diced sweet potato, tempeh bacon, and wayfare. 

Since Earth Day is this week, I am going to try to give an eco-tip every day.  My last one was getting rid of paper towels. Today’s tip: we all know we should bring our own bags to the store but it can be hard to remember. Store reusable bags in your car and you’ll always have them on hand for an impromptu tip to the grocery store or Target. Keep a couple compact styles in your purse in case you’re out with a friend. I have three of these stashed in my purse at all times.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 10:53 am

    I love a good mango – they make everything better! Ive never heard of coconut flakes, what else do you use them for?

  2. rachael permalink*
    April 20, 2010 11:03 am

    These are the coconut flakes: http://www.edwardandsons.com/ldo_shop_coconut.itml. I have also used them in granola and homemade coconut ice-cream. I LOVE coconut, so I may eat them straight out of the bag too:)

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. April 20, 2010 1:52 pm

    As my Indian father always says, there is NOTHING like a perfectly ripe mango. I totally agree!

    Love your Earth Day tip, I keep bags in both cars and in the house, and one in my purse. I remember to use them 99% of the time which is such progress for me!

Leave a Reply

