Skip to content

happy earth day!

April 22, 2010

I have had a wonderful Earth Day. I worked a half-day and met my boys the local vegetarian restaurant (subjectively local, since we live in the middle of nowhere) for lunch. We each ordered a juice.

beet, carrot, cucumber, parsley, and celery for me

 

my hawt hubby had carrot, lemon, ginger

 

and peach for the little boy

My hubby was festive and rocked his green label organics shirt. There is a salad I love and almost always get (unless I get the special) but today I was in the mood for a sandwich.

hummus, carrot, cucumber, tomato, avocado and cashew parm on housemade multigrain bread

My sandwich was served with sweet potato fries and housemade ketchup. I shared with the little boy, and my hubby finished it off when I hit the super-full wall.

the husband got sweet potato enchiladas with tofu sour cream, brown rice, and aduki beans

When we got home, I was reminded of how amazing the earth is. When I stood in the driveway facing the road I saw this:

When I turned around I saw this:

The hubby and I enjoyed a Long Trail while we waited for the storm.

Then storm came and afterwards we saw a lovely Earth Day rainbow.

My eco-friendly tip for today: Be Conscious. Everyday we are faced with decisions, what to eat, what to buy, where to drive, what politicians to support, what causes to get involved in . . .  Each of these decisions has an impact bigger than you. Think about who and what you’re making an impact on. Choose to be a conscious inhabitant of the earth.

A few things I do:

– drive a hybrid car

– grown organic vegetables in my garden

– compost

– bring my own bags to all stores (why limit this to the grocery store)

– support local organic agriculture through farmer’s markets and a CSA

– walk whenever I can

– use cloth napkins and dish towels

– purchase wind energy

– eat a plant based diet

– reuse and recycle whenever possible

– use green cleaning and bath/beauty products

– support local, national, and international green initiatives

– educate myself

My wonderful concious hubby mowed the lawn with our manual mower this morning in honor of earth day. What do you do to reduce your footprint?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 6:44 pm

    Those juices look phenomenal! You do a lot of great things to help preserve our planet. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

