Skip to content

chocolate weekend

April 25, 2010

We were lucky to have beautiful weather yesterday. I dragged one of my best friend’s to her first yoga class yesterday, and she loved it! I am so excited to have a new yoga buddy. Unfortunately she lives about an hour away, but there is a studio in between our houses that we can meet at.

After a morning of hot power yoga, and an afternoon of sun and playing in the sandbox, I decided to tackle something I have been meaning to try for a while: homemade mole. I have only had mole once, at a restaurant, so a recipe was definitely in order. I used the recipe for Chocolate Chile Mole from Veganomicon, and then used the sauce in the Mole Pie with Greens from the same book.

I have always been a little afraid of making mole because there are so many ingredients, but it actually wasn’t too difficult, just a little messy. I followed the recipe exactly for the sauce, but think I would play with it a little next time. I love all the layers of flavor!

I didn’t stop at chocolate for dinner; I also made a chocolate dessert. I am always tempted to buy raw truffles at the health food store, but they are super expensive, so I decided to make my own.

Raw Vegan Almond Joy Truffles

  • 6 dates
  • 2 tbsp raw cocoa powder
  • 2-3 tbsp raw almond butter
  • 1-2 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 1-2 tbsp raw cocoa nibs
  • 1-2 tbsp ground almonds

Combine dates, almond butter, and cocoa powder in a food processor and grind until smooth. Mix coconut. cocoa nibs, and almonds in a bowl. Roll the date chocolate mixture into balls, and then coat with the dry mixture. I rolled each one in the dry mixture, and then rolled each one in the dry mixture a second time to coat more heavily. The have a crunchy outside and a decadent inside. Glorious!

Off to fold about 14 loads of laundry, followed by a walk with my boys. I had a lot of great workouts this week, and my body is happy to have a rest day. I have been working on a new yoga post for a while . . . hopefully I’ll finish it soon. Have a great Sunday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 8:27 pm

    choco almond joy truffles…oh my god those look soooo good girl, i just may have to break out my Vita tonite!
    xoxo

  2. May 4, 2010 2:08 pm

    This is such an inspiring blog!

    Now if you could just tell me what to do with the tofu that’s sitting in my fridge….

    🙂

  3. May 10, 2010 7:55 am

    Mmm those truffles look amazing!

Leave a Reply

