Skip to content

compliments

May 10, 2010

It’s been a while since I updated my little blog; I guess I‘ve been super busy lately.  A belated Happy Mother’s day to all the mamas and mamas-to-be out there!

I am so blessed to be this little boy's mom 🙂

This mama had a great weekend altogether, though it went by way too fast! I taught a hot power vinyasa class on Saturday morning.  I had a great time teaching and really tuned into my class. When I first started teaching yoga I would go way too fast and was not very effective at cuing poses. My years of practicing had become such an internal practice that it took a while to take that practice externally, through teaching. Instead of focusing on my own breath, I listen to the ujjayi breath in the room. I try to cue in a way that won’t rush the people whose breath and movements are moving more slowly, while not boring those who are a bit faster at the moment. I have become much more adept at changing my plans for the class, substituting heart openers for forward bends for an energetic group or vice versa. On Saturday, one yogini told me afterwards that the class felt like it was 20 minutes long, a great compliment in my book!

I got another great compliment Saturday night, from my husband, who told me my Vegan Paella was one of the best meals I’ve ever made him. When the husband goes for thirds I know I’ve done well. 🙂

Vegan Paella (disclaimer, this is the only “paella” I have ever had, so I am sure it is far from traditional)

1 cup uncooked brown rice
2 cloves garlic, pressed and chopped
1 small onion diced
1 tomato, diced
2 cups cooked chickpeas (or I can rinsed and drained)
1 can artichoke hearts rinsed and drained
1/3 cup kalamata olives, pitted and halved
 1 lemon, juiced
1 bunch kale (could substitute any green)
1 cup frozen peas (I’m sure fresh would be even better)
Olive oil
Dried oregano (1-2 tsp)
Dried sweet basil (1-2 tsp)
Garlic salt (or sea salt, my dad bought garlic salt at the farmer’s market that is fabulous so that’s what I used)
Dried majoram leaves (1 tsp)
Pepper

Sauté garlic and onion in olive oil in the bottom of a large stockpot over medium-high heat. When onions start to soften, add rice and sauté for a minute or two until grains are lightly toasted.  Add boiling water to cover the rice, reduce heat to simmer and cover for 5 minutes.  Add other tomato, olives, artichokes, and kale, add more hot water to make sure rice and veggies are fully covers, replace cover on pot.  Cook for 20 minutes stirring occasionally.  Add peas, chickpeas, and herbs. Recover and cook for 5-10 minutes, or until rice is fully cooked. Add the juice if one lemon, garlic salt, and pepper to taste. Stir well to incorporate and serve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. conradvisionquest permalink
    May 11, 2010 8:56 am

    oh man, i am sooo making this! thanks for the recipe…
    ~wendy
    http://conradvisionquest.wordpress.com/

  2. May 12, 2010 10:53 am

    Great Blog Rachael! Thanks for stopping by Yoga Addicted, I agree, our children teach us so much! I feel that way about everyone/thing in life…it all equals to wonderful lessons never taught in books. My students teach me everyday in class, I’m sure much more than I teach them:) Namaste, Mandy

Leave a Reply

