Skip to content

deconstructed

May 12, 2010

I was thoroughly enjoying the warm weather.

Breaking in my new running shoes . . .

Loving ice cold smoothies in the morning . . .

Watching my veggies grow . . .

(yes, I need to weed)

Enjoying my neighbor’s lilacs . . .

And then it had to go get cold again. I am ready for warm weather and fresh vegetables. I resorted to buying an entirely out of season and very expensive eggplant. It was even prepackaged in cardboard and plastic wrap. I shielded my eyes from the origin sticker and looked the other way when the cashier wrung up the price. It made me long for summer (and fresh, local veggies) even more when I tasted my Deconstructed Vegan Eggplant Parmesan.

Disclaimer: Like the paella this is not traditional in the least, but it is very yummy. The cashew parmesan is an ode to our “local” vegetarian restaurant, and could be used in a variety of dishes.

1 cup quinoa

1.25 cups water

1 eggplant, peeled and diced

1 tomato, diced

1 small onion, diced

1-2 tbsp olive oil

1 bunch swiss chard, rinsed and chopped

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp dried sweet basil

Pepper

1/3 cup cashew parmesan

Place quinoa and water in a small stock pot, bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer and cover for ~20 minutes or until grains are fully cooked. Sauté onion in olive oil in large sauté pan or wok over medium until onion begins to soften. Add eggplant and sauté for 10 minutes; add a little more olive oil if needed.  Add chard and tomato and cook for another 10 minutes or until eggplant is fully cooked.  Add herbs and pepper. Serve over quinoa and top with cashew parmesan.

Cashew Parmesan

1/3 cup cashews

1.5 tbsp nutritional yeast 

Juice of ¼ lemon

Large dash of garlic salt

Place all ingredients in food processor or blender and process/blend until ground. For a spreadable cheese, add a tablespoon of water and blend until smooth.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 6:16 pm

    yum to the vegan parm!! 🙂

  2. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 14, 2010 7:39 pm

    oh I do not love cold in the morning at all.
    hot for me please!
    Deconstruction of food: love the idea

  3. May 19, 2010 11:44 am

    You used three of my FAVORITE ingredients; quinoa, cashews, and nutritional yeast. Looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

