Skip to content

summer lovin’

June 22, 2010

I love summer. I love warm weather, sundresses, ice-tea, and fresh veggies. We are very lucky to have a wonderful local farmer’s market. B and I go to the farmer’s market pretty much every weekend, and he looks forward to it as much as I do; he is a sampling fool! Other than bananas, pretty much all the produce we eat in the summer comes from our garden, my in-law’s garden, and the farmer’s market. We spend a lot less on groceries and have a lot more variety.  The market did not disappoint last weekend, and we both left very happy.

The cherries didn’t stand a chance. Any food that is delicious, messy, and involves pit-spitting is no match for a vegetarian 3 year old!

In the winter our meals are very planned out and I look to cookbooks for inspiration, but in the summer I really let the garden and market lead the way. Sunday I made our first farmer’s market dinner of the season.

Chickpea patties served over sautéed swiss chard and garlic scapes topped with wilted pea shoots and hot-house tomato vinaigrette.  Who says vegan food can’t be local and sophisticated?

So, I know this is my first post in quite a while. I got pretty busy in the spring with work/school/life but school is over until the fall so I hope to be posting a lot more. Stay tuned!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

