Skip to content

kale, yoga, and a half-marathon?

June 23, 2010

My body was craving yoga when I woke up this morning.  I plan my exercise time but don’t usually plan what type of exercise I do.  I am thinking about training for a half-marathon so that may have to change, more on that later. My home yoga practice usually either consists of just me and my mat, practicing what I teach (Ashtanga based /Baptiste influenced vinyasa) or a Dave Farmar podcast. This morning I changed things up a bit and dusted off my David Swenson Ashtanga Second Series DVD.  This dvd starts after the sun salutations and standing postures, which I did on my own to warm up. The dvd is great, a simple background, and right to the point without a lot of chatter, exactly what Ashtanga should be in my opinion.  My boy woke up while I was practicing and he was really captured watching David Swenson, much more interested than he has been in other yoga or pilates dvds. Maybe it was the calming simplicity? Anyhow, as I have mentioned before, Ashtanga yoga made me first fall in love with the practice and it really felt good to get back to my roots this morning!  I think I need to make Ashtanga a part of my yoga routine this summer.

After yoga I made a smoothie for me and my boys with kale from our garden!

Frozen banana, kale, carrots, strawberries, ground flax seeds, and unsweetened vanilla hemp milk.

Perfect way to start the day!

I’ve been thinking about running a half-marathon in the fall. I think it would be really fun to train for something and would be a great accomplishment. I’m pretty sure my husband is even on board to run with me! Summer is the perfect time for me to train since my life gets crazier when I add school to my already packed schedule. I do have a couple reservations. First, exercise is my release and my time to myself; I love running but don’t want it to become a chore. Second, I don’t want my training to take away from yoga. I have been practicing and subbing more lately and am really loving it. Have you ever trained for a half-marathon? How was the training?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 9:40 am

    Wish I could offer you some advice but running around the block seems overwhelming to me, let alone a half marathon!!!!

    I want to try out yoga. Got any tips?

    • rachael permalink*
      June 24, 2010 12:59 pm

      Hi,

      I would recommended going to a few yoga classes if possible (I;m sure time to yourself is virtually nonexistent), then getting a dvd or downloading some podcasts to practice at home. It’s great to practice with a community and I find it easier to learn through demonstration in person versus trying to follow a dvd. There are a lot of types of yoga. I like to move, so vinyasa (a flowing form of yoga) works really well for me. Even vinyasa can be really wide ranged, Ashtanga and Baptiste are very athletic, and Anusara is more moderately paced but still challenging. I absolutely love yoga. I started for the physical benefits but have benefitted most from the mental benefits. My first yoga teacher used to say “You may come for a yoga butt and leave enlightened.”

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. You are a great writer and I hope you keep blogging:)

      Rachael

  2. Kelly permalink
    June 24, 2010 10:42 am

    I have never been a runner. But the idea of a marathon (or half marathon) is so exciting. I hope that you enjoy the training and the event. I do follow several blogs and they are in marathon training right now. One is http://graduatemeghann.com. I hope it’s not inappropriate to list that here. If it is I apologize ahead of time. Good luck!

    I just recently found your blog and have enjoyed reading it.

    • rachael permalink*
      June 24, 2010 1:10 pm

      Thanks for stopping by my little blog and leaving your words of encouragement.:)

      Rachael

Leave a Reply

