Skip to content

on the mend

June 29, 2010

After a couple cold-induced rest days, I woke up feeling quite a bit better this morning. I was in the mood to exercise, so I went out for a run and figured I’d walk if I didn’t feel well. I ended up feeling great, so I ran 3 miles and then did this awesome arms routine. After two rest days, it felt amazing to get my sweat on! Post-workout, B and I picked kale from the garden and made a delicious family sized sludge. I wonder what my neighbors think when they see a 3 year old picking kale in his jammies at 6:30 a.m. I think it’s a beautiful thing. 🙂

Dinner tonight was everything a busy mama could dream of: easy, delicious, nutrient packed, and kid friendly.

Summer Quinoa Salad

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup cooked chickpeas, chilled (or 1 can chickpeas rinsed well)
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen peas
  • 1 large zucchini, grated
  • 2 large carrots grated
  • homemade lemon vinaigrette (red wine vinegar, olive oil, juice of one lemon, sea salt, pepper, basil, & oregano blended)

Cook quinoa. Add peas as soon as quinoa is cooked and still hot (to gently soften fresh peas or defrost frozen). Add veggies, chickpeas, dressing and mix well. Chill for at least 1 hour.

I enjoyed mine with my summer beverage of choice: hibiscus ice-tea with a lime.

I’ll leave you with a healthy cooking tip: Good knives and decent knife skills are the number one secret to making healthy eating easy. Veggies don’t take long to cook, so the faster you can prepare them, the less time you’ll have to spend in the kitchen. A lot of cooking schools offer one-day knife skills classes to the public. If taking a class is not your thing, buy a good chef’s knife and plan a get together, but cut the veggies for the crudités rather than buying a premade platter. If you still dread cutting veggies, you can always use a mandolin or grater.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 8:14 pm

    Ooo girl, I love quinoa salad! So refreshing and filling and pull of protein!

    This dressing sounds fab!

    xxoo

  2. July 3, 2010 7:55 am

    Great quinoa recipe. I am just now really getting into quinoa and I’ve only ever had it plain or with a few veggies. I need to start creating neat dishes with it, as it’s so versatile!

    Have a very happy Fourth 🙂

Leave a Reply

