Skip to content

my second race

July 6, 2010

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday weekend! I ran my second race ever this weekend, a hot, hilly four miler. I don’t have a Garmin so I never really know how far or how fast I run, so it’s been really fun for me to actually have my speed measured in both races. The other race I ran, a 5k, was pretty small, so this was my first race ever with the chip timer on my shoe. The race didn’t start until 10, so I knew I would have to eat something beforehand but wasn’t sure what would work, since I tend to get cramps and indigestion pretty easily when I run. I finally settled on a steel cut oats (1/4 cup uncooked), with a half a banana, a few fresh cherries, and a spoonful of almond butter. I figured it would stick to my ribs instead of sloshing around like a smoothie, and keep me satiated. I ate around 7:30, so I had a while to digest. It ended up being a great choice; I had no stomach cramps while I ran and I was well powered to astonish myself by finishing in 29:22! I was really happy with my time. Maybe it will give me enough confidence to try a half-marathon . . .

Right after the race I had a coconut water and luna bar.

When we got home I had a hummus and veggie wrap, on a brown rice tortilla before heading to the in-laws’ to lounge in the pool.  Glorious afternoon!

I was planning on attempting Emily’s famous black bean burgers for dinner but I was pretty tired and didn’t feel like making a big mess so I made a quick Black Bean and Fresh Corn Salad.

  • 1 can of black beans, well rinsed
  • Kernels from 2 ears of fresh corn
  • Half a red onion chopped
  • 1 large tomato diced
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • ~1.5 tsp cumin
  • Dash of salt
  • Dash of pepper

Mix all ingredients together and refrigerate for 45 minutes.

Served over lightly sautéed rainbow chard (from my favorite stand at the farmer’s market) and grilled sweet potatoes.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 2:04 pm

    Congratulations on a great race! Figuring out what to eat is key!

  2. July 8, 2010 3:09 pm

    All of that food looks delicious! You would love having a Garmin by the way 🙂 Maybe for a birthday present or something!

    ~Alyssa

  3. July 11, 2010 2:19 pm

    Congrats on the race! And, great post-race meal. Got the carbs and the protein. Perfect combo.

Leave a Reply

