Skip to content

back to reality

July 17, 2010

Well not quite, but we’re home. We had a wonderful, memorable week at a little beach cottage in Scarborough, Maine. It was pretty much a perfect vacation. We had our own space, where we could cook and relax, a great beach to spend our days, and were fairly close to Portland. Like the Fitnessista, I live in a small town where there’s not a lot of choices for yoga, healthy restaurants, and shopping. So, I thoroughly enjoyed having access to Portland Power Yoga and Whole Foods, and may have snuck in a little trip to Lululemon.

It was hard to leave but I’m ready for a little post-vacation detox. I keep things pretty healthy while I’m away but certainly indulge in a little more sugar, white flour, and wine than usual. 🙂

We ate most of our meals at the cottage but did eat in Portland a few times. We had the vegan pizza at the Flatbread Company, tempeh BLTs made with local tempeh at Local Sprouts, and hit up the Whole Foods hot bar a couple times. One of my best friends lives about a half-hour away from Portland and generously offered to come watch the boy one night so Matt and I could have a nice dinner at The Pepper Club.

He started with a local brew, while I had a glass of ganache.

I started with the tempeh spring rolls, which were simple but unbelievably delicious. And I am usually only a fan of tempeh in bacon or reuben form.

The husband had the portabella loaf for his entree.

I had the Indian curries.

We also split an unpictured vegan chocolate coconut mousse for dessert. It was a pretty epic meal.

I have a lot more to share but I’m exhausted so I’m going to save it for tomorrow. Good night!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2010 7:06 pm

    My twin sister Lori had been to Portland, she loved it. Glad you had a great time, and the food looks great.

Trackbacks

  1. om-mazing « peace, kale, and yoga
  2. on the road again « peace, kale, and yoga

Leave a Reply

