Skip to content

easy chickpeasy weeknight dinner

August 4, 2010

Yesterday afternoon my husband was talking about the satay he was cooking at work. Later, when I was cooking dinner, I felt inspired by the satay discussion.  Considering it only took about 35 minutes, I was shocked when my husband ranked dinner as one of the best 10 I’ve ever made. As a bonus, judging from B’s clean plate, it is kid-friendly.

Curried Chickpea Satay Stir-Fry

  • 1 cup short grain brown rice, dry
  • ½ onion diced
  • 1 medium to large sweet potato
  • 1 yellow squash (if I had other veggies I probably would have opted for something else, but this is what we had)
  • 2-3 cups kale (other greens would be fine, just add later if using more delicate greens)
  • 1.5 cups chickpeas, cooked
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • Juice of one lime
  • 1 tbsp curry seasoning (I use Frontier)
  • 1 tsbp olive oil
  • 2 tsp of tamari (leave out and add a little more seal salt for a soy-free version)

Rinse dry rice to remove excess starch. Place brown rice and 2 cups of water in a sauce pan, bring to a boil, reduce to simmer and cover for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until water is absorbed and rice is cooked. Add onion and olive oil to a large skillet or wok. Cook over medium high heat, stirring occasionally. Peel and dice sweet potato, and add to skillet. Cook for 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally, while cutting squash (or preparing other veggies). Add squash (or other veggies) to the skillet. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add peanut butter, lime juice, curry, and tamari, stirring well to combine. Cook until sweet potatoes are al dente and add kale. Stir as needed to keep from burning. When sweet potatoes are tender, but not mushy, and kale is cooked, remove from heat. Serve over brown rice.

I love cooking healthy, delicious meals for my boys but used to struggle to get “real” dinners on the table every weeknight. So, I started simplifying our dinners and have gotten into the habit of cooking almost every night. I usually have left overs to bring for lunch the next day, so I save time there.

What are your favorite weeknight dinners?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

