Skip to content

the quintessential vegan dinner

August 17, 2010

I never cooked until I took a year off from college; up until then if I couldn’t make it in a toaster oven, I didn’t make it. I spent the first week of my hiatus furiously looking for a job and reading a John Robbins book I had picked up at the library.  Soon after finishing Diet for a New America, I started working at vegetarian café and juice bar.  I found myself more committed my meatless lifestyle than ever before.

I had tried tofu a few times in the past, but never liked it until I tasted the tofu at the cafe. After my third day on the job, I stopped at the health-food store on the way home and bought a block of tofu and a bag of brown rice. I was bound and determined to master the quintessential vegan entrée: tofu stir-fry.

I knew enough to press my tofu, so I handled the tofu much more skillfully than the rice on my first few attempts. And before long, I could make a damn good tofu stir-fry. I even asked for a wok for Christmas. It was the only meal I cooked for a couple more years, but non-the-less a welcome addition to my usual mix of cereal, salads, Amy’s canned soup, and hummus wraps.

I don’t eat tofu stir fry nearly as often as I used to but some nights nothing sounds better. It’s such a versatile dish; I can make it work with almost any selection of veggies and condiments. Tonight’s stir-fry took me back to those first few I made, but with properly cooked rice.

  • brown basmati rice
  • local tofu
  • petty pan squash
  • zucchini
  • broccoli
  • yellow squash
  • onion
  • tamari
  • garlic
  • fresh ginger
  • dash of cayenne

As delicious as ever.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 10:17 pm

    Stir-fry looks great! I am not a big tofu fan but this looks great 😉

  2. August 18, 2010 9:01 am

    That looks absolutely delish! I will have to give it a try 🙂

    ~Alyssa

Leave a Reply

