Skip to content

satya

September 10, 2010

I had an introspective moment about living my yoga the other night. I was out to dinner with a friend, and I was telling her about a request I had to make at work and how I was nervous about speaking to my boss. My friend asked why I didn’t just make up an excuse rather than divulge the real reason for my request, but before she waited for me to answer she said “You never lie, do you?” I thought for a minute and said “No, I really don’t.”

I haven’t always been such an honest person; I definitely was not afraid to bend the truth as a teenager.  In thinking back to my youth, I asked myself what had changed, and immediately thought of yoga and the yamas. I have read the yamas numerous times in books and yoga magazines, and discussed them at length during my yoga teacher training, but have never made a conscious effort to live them. Nevertheless, along the way they seem to have made an impact.

I believe I sought a non-harming life through my diet and lifestyle choices before I even uttered the word ahimsa. Ahimsa has naturally been a guiding principle in my life, and certainly started in my soul not psyche. Now it seems Satya (truthfulness) has snuck into my soul.

In the physical practice of asana, it is common that poses come more easily when we don’t think about them. The minute I think about my balance and the distribution of weight in my lone standing foot, I lose my balance. When I let go and just listen to my breath, the poses come. The yamas seem to be working the same way in my path.

I had always thought about the yamas as a list of “rules” of sort. But maybe, like difficult asanas, they just come, with time, when you’re ready.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 4:01 pm

    What a great reflection. I think its so important to go from viewing lessons and guidelines as rules to viewing them as truly means to a fulfilling life.

  2. September 15, 2010 5:50 am

    I’m definitely a believer that most things are easier when we don’t think about them. Thinking can often get me in trouble, because I can’t stop thinking…and then my thinking just causes me to get stressed. Living in the moment, and not thinking too much about it, is the way to go through life.

  3. September 30, 2010 11:06 am

    I’m loving your blog… and certainly this post. I think that what you’re saying is something that is often overlooked in the “yoga is more than asana” debate – Practitioners that start primarily with asana – WILL pick up the other things too… in time. Our yoga deepens when we’re ready for it… and usually without notice until after the fact.

    Yay for you – living your yoga is a big thing. ♥

Trackbacks

  1. my yoga story « peace, kale, and yoga

Leave a Reply

