Skip to content

dipped in beauty

September 20, 2010

My husband had Sunday off, which is a special treat for both of us. I woke up early and headed out to my favorite yoga studio while my boys were still sleeping. As I was driving the sun began to burn through the morning fog. I turned the radio on towards the end of my drive and I heard a bit of an interview with a female author on NPR. She was discussing the therapeutic effect of a book she wrote after her husband of 50 years passed, and mentioned feeling as though she’d been “dipped in beauty.”

The yoga class was amazing. Our class was brimming with energy in the quiet morning, following the lead of a passionate teacher.

When I got home I showered and made a smoothie (inspired by Gina’s butternut squash smoothie).

  • Roasted Pumpkin (I roast my own and refrigerate/freeze instead of buying canned, it’s super easy)
  • Ice
  • Homemade Brazil Nut Milk (sooo yummy)
  • Cinnamon
  • Spoonful of raw almond butter
  • 1 carrot

After my smoothie I made a quick run to the farmer’s market, then came home and packed a lunch to bring on a picnic with my boys.

We headed off to a state park and found a picnic table. We all shared a huge salad of greens, quinoa, aduki beans, carrots, avocado, cucumber, and hummus. After lunch we hiked one of the shorter trails, and could hardly keep up with B.

And there was an epic Sunday dinner that deserves a post of its own.

As I was putting B to bed I couldn’t help but feel as though I have also been dipped in beauty. I am so blessed. I have an amazing husband and a beautiful child; I can choose to feed my family healthy, vegan food; I can practice yoga with a wonderful community; I can enjoy the outdoors on a perfect early fall day; I can follow my dreams.

What makes you feel as though you’ve been dipped in beauty?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 9:14 am

    Your blog feels dipped in beauty!

    I feel dipped in beauty when I have a leisurely day to spend with my love- with time spent outside, exploring, eating good food and remembering the beauty of life.

Leave a Reply

