Skip to content

nut milk bliss

September 22, 2010

As I told you, I have recently become the proud new owner of a nut milk bag. My husband doesn’t raise his eyebrows at much, but he raised his eyebrows when I told him about my new purchase. So, I was determined to prove its worth.

I’ve made almond milk before, using a cheesecloth, but the cheesecloth was such a messy pain that I never experimented with other nuts or seeds. With a new toy to play with, I headed to the healthfood store quite intent on buying ingredients to make a new type of “milk.” Since brazil nuts were on sale, my decision was easy, and fate was delicious.

With a nut milk bag and a Vitamix, nut milk is super easy to make.

Brazil Nut Milk

  • 1 cup brazil nuts
  • 7 cups filtered water

Soak about a cup of brazil nuts in cold water for 24 hours, changing the water once. Rinse the soaked nuts and put them in the blender, filling the canister with filtered water, not quite to the fill line. Blend the mixture for about 30 seconds then put the milk bag to work (or use a cheesecloth).

Pure bliss. No sweeteners or vanilla needed.  It is super creamy and absolutely delicious in overnight oats. My husband says it’s great in coffee. He’s sold by the way. 😉

The major advantage to the nutmilk bag is the effortless cleaning process. The nut pulp was easily removed and the bag rinsed right out without a hassle. Not a single nut piece made it into my milk.

What is your most unusual kitchen tool? Any nut/seed milk recipes I should try?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 1:09 pm

    I don’t get too creative in the kitchen so I don’t have any creative tools. I work with the basics. I love hearing other peoples’ kitchen adventures (like yours) though! 🙂

  2. September 23, 2010 1:59 pm

    Just discovered your blog! 😀 I only recently got my Vita-Mix, so I’ve been meaning to FINALLY make my own nut milk, too! I just made my own cashew butter a few weeks ago, and it turned out excellent! I’ve been drinking almond milk for years, so making my own sounds way more fun (and cheaper!).

    Most unusual kitchen tool? Probably my dehydrator… my friends walk into my kitchen and look at it funny, but I love it!

  3. September 23, 2010 9:54 pm

    Had to check out the other Rachael with an “a”….I keep forgetting to regularly read blogs I’ve stumbled across and enjoyed in the past!
    Black sesame milk – lots of soaking and two blending stints, but it’s pretty amazing – drinkable sweet tahini!
    My favorite kitchen gadget is an old-school grain mill. I’ve been branching into grinding nuts (hickory and black walnut are local favorites) to make gluten-free flours, and the mill, which dates from around 1870, is a beloved fixture!

Leave a Reply

