Skip to content

soup rejuvenation

September 28, 2010

Homework has begun to take over my weekends. I don’t mind doing the work, but fitting in everything I need to do can be challenging. When I am stressed out I make some of our best meals. Cooking is a release for me.  I love spending time playing in the kitchen.

Sunday night, after an especially grueling afternoon of organic chemistry, I made an easy and delicious fall dinner.

Easy Lentil, Sweet Potato, Kale Soup

  • 1 cup green lentils, rinsed
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 huge or 2 medium sweet potatoes, diced
  • 1 large bunch of curly kale, rinsed, destemmed, and chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped

Sautee onion and olive oil in a stock pot over medium high heat for 3 minutes. Add sweet potato, lentil, and vegetable broth and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to a simmer, add kale and cover. Cook for about 40 minutes, stirring occasionally. Lentils and sweet potatoes should be tender.

I was planning on adding spices, but the soup was so flavorful on its own that it wasn’t necessary. The soup was so hearty that the husband said he was going to bring a pot of it next time he goes to watch football with the guys.  😉

I love making bread to go with our soup but since I didn’t start the dough early enough, I decided to make cornbread. HEAB mentioned making pumpkin cornbread on her blog, so I made a vegan version of her idea. I didn’t measure anything so I don’t have a recipe for you but can provide the ingredient list: roasted sugar pumpkin (about 1 cup), organic medium grind cornmeal, spelt flour, 1 tbsp baking powder, I tbsp coconut oil, and almond milk.

After an hour in the kitchen I felt totally rejuvenated. 🙂

How do you destress?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 12:09 pm

    That soup sounds really good. And I love how easy it looks.

Trackbacks

  1. simple harvest salad « peace, kale, and yoga

Leave a Reply

