Skip to content

rainy day breakfast

October 2, 2010

I love the rain.  My love for rain may seem a bit out of character, since I am an outdoors person.  But I find rain to be quite cathartic. Not to mention that it’s a great excuse to curl up on the couch with a good book, or head to hot yoga, which is even better with the sound of rain outside. And don’t get me started on rain boots.

When I’m faced with a lazy, rainy morning the baking bug always bites.  When there’s a pumpkin or fall squash on the counter, that’s where I always start. While my kuri squash roasted I thought about what sort of treat I should make . . . cookies, bread, scones, brownies.

Since it was well before noon I settled on scones. Every fall I make pumpkin bread with dates that the husband loves, so pumpkin kuri squash date scones it was.

Vegan Autumn Scones (whole grain and refined sugar free to boot!)
makes 6 scones

  • 2 cups spelt flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • all spice
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil (canola oil would work)
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 cup pureed kuri squash (pumpkin or butternut squash would be great too, as would canned pumpkin)
  • 6 dates (chopped and tossed in flour)

Mix dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients. Form a circle on a greased baking sheet (I used coconut oil to grease). Cut into 6 triangles. Separate and bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

I enjoyed mine with a cup of green tea while curled up on the couch with my favorite boy and a stack of Little Critter books.

What are your favorite rainy day activities?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 4:24 pm

    I love rain as well. It was pouring today and I just stared at it for like 10 minutes. My favorite is listening to is as I’m falling asleep. So soothing! These scones look amazing! Think I could use whole wheat flour instead?

    • rachael permalink*
      October 6, 2010 7:07 pm

      You could definitely use whole wheat flour instead. I have found that most gluten flours are interchangeable. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. October 7, 2010 2:34 pm

    I love the rain too. Mainly when I can curl up and get all cozy inside.

  3. Kathryn permalink
    October 7, 2010 6:16 pm

    OMG just came across your blog and I may be in love.

    • rachael permalink*
      October 8, 2010 6:44 am

      Aww. Thanks for stopping by my little blog!

  4. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    October 13, 2010 10:07 am

    These look so yummy! I, too, love rainy days! It gives me time to do stuff inside-like curl up in a blanket 🙂

  5. Laura Lynch-Young permalink
    November 20, 2010 10:20 am

    My first time visiting your blog. I now want to make every single recipe.Yum! Is a dish with seitan something you can provide a recipe for? It seems to be a good winter food.

Leave a Reply

