Skip to content

simple harvest salad

October 14, 2010

After an exceptionally hot summer, when cold salads were frequently the most appealing meals, I have been making a lot of soups and hot casseroles for dinner. But when I was planning the menu for my dad’s birthday dinner, I decided it was time to bring a little salad back into my life. I still made a hot casserole; I just served this seasonal salad on the side. 🙂

Harvest Salad

  • Seasonal greens
  • Half a butternut squash diced
  • ½ cup dried cranberries
  • ¼ cup pumpkin seeds

Preheat the oven to 375. Toss the butternut squash in olive oil with a dash of salt and pepper. Arrange in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake for 10- 20 minutes (depending on how small the squash is diced)- tossing about half-way through. Squash should be easily squished with a fork after baking.

Maple Fig Vinaigrette

  • 3 dried Turkish figs
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • ¼ cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup

Remove hard ends from figs. Emulsify in blender or food processor.

To make your salad pretty: Toss  about half of the dressing with the greens. Greens should be flavored but not drenched with dressing. Arrange squash, pumpkin seeds, and cranberries on top of greens.

To make your salad extra delicious (in my opinion): Toss ½ dressing and all of the salad ingredients together with tongs.

I always sacrifice looks for flavor. 🙂

Do you naturally eat less salad in autumn?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 11:42 am

    That salad sounds delicious! Especially the dressing. I would never think to do maple with a dressing.

  2. October 15, 2010 6:35 am

    This salad sounds wonderful!! Absolutely delicious. Actually, I’ve been eating a lot of salads lately, mainly because I just bought a salad spinner to help me wash my lettuce and spinach more efficiently 🙂 I used to do it all buy hand, but this baby really helps. I’ll have to try adding some winter squash to my salads now.

Leave a Reply

