Skip to content

double chocolate magic bars

December 4, 2010

When my son was a newborn I was amazed how ravenous breastfeeding made me. My husband and I joke that formula would have likely been cheaper than the increased grocery bills that resulted from my nursing appetite.  In those early months, my mom would come over every weekend by to help me with the baby. She would usually bring lunch and a treat from a local bakery, most often magic bars. I took full advantage of my increased caloric needs and looked forward to these decadent sweets.

During my first few months as a new mother, we sampled magic bars from all the local bakeries. Magic bars are known by many names. Some bakeries call them Hello Dolly Bars or 7 Layer bars. After one bite, my mom and I agreed that magic was the best description. There were minor variations in ingredients as well as title. My favorite ones came from the bakery that made our wedding cake, and featured an oreo crust instead of graham cracker.


Last weekend I decided to make a vegan version of my beloved double chocolate magic bars. I started with this recipe from the Post Punk Kitchen, subbing chocolate cookie crumbs for graham cracker crumbs. I used Annie’s Bunny cookies, since I couldn’t find Newman’s Own chocolate alphabet cookies, which would have been ideal. I used unsweetened coconut (I have found that the Let’s Do Organic brand has a lot more flavor than other unsweetened varieties) and pecans were my nut of choice. Also, I didn’t measure the chocolate chips or coconut, I’m not sure how much I used but I know it was a bit less than the recommended amounts.  I cooked them a little bit longer than the Post Punk Kitchen instructions. I left them in the fridge overnight before cutting them, which I think is key.

The results were nothing short of incredible. I usually am very moderate about eating sweets but I had a hard time resisting these.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 5, 2010 3:03 am

    yuuuuuuum!

Leave a Reply

